Summer Serenade at St Martin-in-the-Fields

7.30pm, Thursday 15th August 2019

Did you know Ralph Vaughan Williams’ popular piece The Lark Ascending was inspired by a poem? Or that it’s elegaic lament may be for a lost generation who perished in the trenches? In this video, London Mozart Players Leader Ruth Rogers shares some insights into the background to this work, and talks about what it’s like to play the heart-melting violin solo. London Mozart Players will be performing Classic FM’s Hall of Fame No 1 piece alongside Ruth at the iconic London church of St Martin in the Fields tomorrow, together with three gorgeous serenades by Elgar, Mozart and Tchaikovsky.


MozartEine kleine Nachtmusik
Vaughan WilliamsThe Lark Ascending
Elgar – Serenade for Strings in E minor
Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings in C

London Mozart Players
Ruth Rogers Violin / Director