ONLINE CONCERT: A Classical Celebration!
Events Calendar


{{EventDate}} & {{EventTime}}

From 3 April 2021

ONLINE CONCERT: A Classical Celebration!

Item successfully added to your basket.

Prokofiev Symphony No. 1 ‘Classical’ Op.25
Schumann Cello Concerto in A Major, Op.129 (soloist Maciej Kulakowski)

London Mozart Players
Ruth Rogers director
Maciej Kulakowski cello
filmed at St John the Evangelist, Upper Norwood

Join the LMP online for a celebratory concert, filmed when lockdown eased in September 2020. We open with Prokofiev’s effervescent ‘Classical’ Symphony, which cleverly juxtaposes 20th-century style with the traditional four-movement symphony – with some added parody and humour. This is contrasted with Schumann’s masterful Cello Concerto, performed by talented young cellist Maciej Kulakowski. A hugely romantic work, this gorgeous concerto is full of passionate melodies that soar against an unobtrusive orchestral accompaniment. Filmed before a socially-distancing audience at the stunning Church of St John the Evangelist in Upper Norwood – the London Mozart Players’ home venue and rightly famed for its music, this concert is a real celebration of the best in classical music.

Buy your ticket and watch the concert any time up to the 16 May 2021.

To watch the concert after registration/purchase, either return to this page where the video will appear if you are logged in, or click ‘My On Demand’ at the top of the website page and you will be invited to log in to watch.

Here’s something to whet your appetite, Maciej playing Dvorak’s evocative Silent Woods.

Programme notes for the concert are available here.

Having trouble buying or watching? Try our Help and FAQs.




Video on Demand